Monday, June 5, 2017

Four Arab Nations Cut Diplomatic Ties to Qatar; Accuse It of Supporting Regional Terror Groups

Saudi Arabia and three other Arab countries severed diplomatic ties to Qatar today (June 5, 2017) and moved to cut off land, sea, and air routes to the energy-rich nation that is home to a major U.S. military base, accusing it of supporting regional terror groups, according to the ABC News website.

Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates made no demands of Qatar as their decision plunged the international travel hub into chaos and ignited the biggest diplomatic crisis in the Persian Gulf since the 1991 war against Iraq.

Qatar -- which is the home to some 10,000 American troops -- criticized the move as a "violation of its sovereignty," and denied supporting terror groups.

The four countries began withdrawing their diplomatic staff  from Qatar as regional airlines announced they had suspended service to its capital, Doha.

No comments:

Post a Comment