Monday, July 10, 2017

Pope: Bread Used for Eucharist Requires Gluten; Bread Made without Wheat Invalid for Eucharist

Pope Francis has decided that bread used to represent the Body of Christ in the Eucharist ceremonies must have gluten, the UPI website reports today (July 10, 2017).

A letter sent from Cardinal Robert Sarah of the Vatican's Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments reminded bishops of the need to have wheat in the ceremonial bread.

"The bread used in the celebration of the Most Holy Eucharistic Sacrifice must be unleavened, purely of wheat..." Sarah wrote.

He added that bread made from another substance different from wheat is not valid for the Eucharistic Sacrament.

No comments:

Post a Comment