Tuesday, March 21, 2017

US Bans Electronic Stuff from Muslim Nations; Fears Terrorists May Hide Explosives in Them

Fearing that terrorists may try to blow up airplanes with hidden explosives, President Donald Trump's Department of Homeland Security has put into place new rules limiting the technology that can be brought onto aircraft by passengers from eight predominantly Muslim countries, the Salon website reports today (March 21, 2017).

The eight countries whose airports will be impacted by this new rule are Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates.

Individuals flying to the U.S. from airports in these nations will be required to place any personal electronic device larger than a cellphone or smartphone into their checked luggage, as they will be prohibited on board the passenger section of the aircraft.

The new restrictions were issued because recent U.S. intelligence indicates that terrorists have developed explosives that can be hidden inside electronic devices.

No comments:

Post a Comment