Monday, March 6, 2017

Trump's New Travel Ban Hits 6 Muslim Nations; Won't Affect Anyone Having Green Card,US Visa

Because his first travel ban to block terrorists from entering the U.S. was trashed by the courts, President Donald Trump has signed a new less controlling executive order -- one that is more likely to remain in effect by the courts --  banning travelers from six Muslim-majority countries from entering the U.S., the Slate website reports today (March 6, 2017).

No members of the press were present for the signing, but Secretary of State Rex Tillerson, Attorney General Jeff Sessions, and Homeland Security Secretary John Kelly gave brief remarks about it at a press conference today.

The new ban covers travelers to the U.S. from Sudan, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen, but not Iraq which was included in the first ban. Also unlike the first ban, today's ban does not include Syrian refugees indefinitely.

Other differences from the first ban and the new one -- which goes into effect on March 16 -- include the new one not applying to anyone who holds a green card or a valid U.S. visa, or has been granted official refugee or asylum status.

No comments:

Post a Comment